What Makes a Gonzaga Education Special?

I have been to the Pacific Northwest on several occasions. Most of my travel included the State of Oregon, Northern California and Western Washington State.

I recently graduated from Lindenwood University in St. Charles, Missouri. I learned a great deal from many of my professors during my undergraduate studies. Once I left school, I never thought about attending graduate school.  Months later I realized how much I wanted to go back to school to pursue a master’s degree.st-helens-copy

I had been working at CBS Radio in Downtown St. Louis at the time. Unfortunately my position was only part-time.  With Missouri ranking near the bottom in economic growth, I though furthering my education would help my standing in the job market. My search for graduate school began in St. Louis. I looked at several different institutions, but none of them offered anything of interest.

Over the next few months, I started looking at online and out-of-state programs. The University of Colorado at Boulder was the first out-of-state institution I looked at.  The campus was massive. I had a hard time navigating around the campus, and became frustrated with the lack of structure and communication with the professors.  Due to cost concerns, I decided to move on.

coloradoI was stuck in a rut. I knew I wanted to pursue a graduate school education, but I just couldn’t find the right one.  That’s when I stumbled across Gonzaga University’s COML Program. It was in December, 2015, that I discovered Gonzaga’s online program.  I remember sitting at CBS Radio filling out the online application on a cold, winter day in St. Louis.

A few days later, I was heading down to Memphis, TN, with my best friend for a Grizzlies-Wizards NBA game.  I received a call from one of the admissions counselors at Gonzaga and they gave me more information about the program.  Once I learned about the College Teaching of Communication emphasis, my eyes lit up. I knew this was the right place to pursue my master’s degree.

I arrived in Spokane on Monday, September 19th. I drove thru town and explored the campus before I went off to Montana for the next few days. I wasn’t sure what to expect when I walked in to the Hemmingson Center early on Thursday morning.  It had been over a year since I had been on a college campus.

Once introductions concluded, I knew I belonged in the Gonzaga community. Thursday was an interesting day. Before we started any of our coursework, we were able to take a tour of the campus. It was an amazing experience learning about the long Jesuit history surrounding the campus.img_2540

The COML program at Gonzaga University provides a great opportunity for those looking to expand their career in the field of leadership and communication.  The professors during the immersion course truly cared about the students and their ability to further their education. My writing skills, communication skills and multimedia skills really improved during my three days on campus.

I think that many of my fellow classmates will agree that the course work was rigorous for only spending three days on campus. We spent over 20 hours in the classroom, but it was well worth it. The best part about the immersion course was getting to create a video which gives me the chance to show people what I’m most passionate about in life.  I’ve been involved in politics in the St. Louis area for the past several years. Getting a chance to showcase what I’m passionate about and how my work can help benefit people in my state and city has been fantastic.

bulldogI’ve struggled with writing and grammar in the past, but Professor Morehouse was able to help me fix a lot of the struggles I had during the immersion course. Dr. Hazel was a tremendous help during the public speaking portion of the class.  There were several different techniques that I learned to help me with public speaking. Whether it was eye contact, posture, how fast/slow I spoke, etc…  So, what makes a Gonzaga education special?

The feeling of belonging to a family on campus makes a Gonzaga education special. The fact that the teachers really care about your success in life is what makes a Gonzaga education special. The way each student helps each other in an area they struggle in is what makes a Gonzaga education special.  I truly love this school, and I cannot wait to finish my master’s degree in  the winter of 2018.

Leave a Reply

